Last weekend my wife, Robin Tryloff, and I traveled to Ann Arbor, Michigan, where Robin serves on the Leadership Committee for the Organizational Studies Program. It’s an annual trip. 20141009_184644Somewhat of a pilgrimage to Mecca for Robin, who is an alum (saying proud alum is redundant). We drove in on Thursday and attended a fiction reading by Andrea Barrett, as part of the Zell Visiting Writer Series. She is a gracious author, extremely talented. I often wonder when I read a novel if the voice I establish in my head bears any resemblance to the author’s voice. Andrea Barrett’s voice perfectly matched the one I’d imagined. Afterwards at a book signing, she was cordial and inquisitive about my own writing. I recommend her work to everyone who enjoys quality, literary fiction.

Robin was in meetings all day Friday, so with a friend I toured bookstores, (especially love Literati Bookstore) boutiques and met a beautiful baby, Clayton, at the Dancing Dog Gallery. That night we all attended a production of Good Kids, written by Naomi Iizuka, performed by the U of M School of Music, Theatre & Dance. It’s a heart-wrenching play, dealing with themes of sexual abuse, social media and accountability. The cast and the artistic staff presented a solid production.

20141011_192755Saturday was game day…Michigan hosting Penn State. Michigan football hasn’t earned many bragging rights this year, but did eke out a win against the Nittany Lions, mostly with good defense when it counted.

Back home Sunday, back to laboring on the current work in progress Monday morning: Summers on the Nebraska Shore. Yes, I know, Nebraska is land-locked. You’ll have to read the book when it’s published to understand the title, although with some imagination, you might guess its origins. I’m pleased with the progress and the quality of the draft.

Have a great day, all, and peace.

